and the nominees (and honorees) are…

Thursday, March 17, 2011
Follow by Email

With the help of Nadja Swarovski, President of the The Council of Fashion Designers of America Diane von Furstenberg held an exclusive event to announce the nominees and honorees for the 2011 CFDA Fashion Awards last night at her studio in the Meatpacking district. Check it out:

Womenswear Designer of the Year: Alexander Wang, Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez (for Proenza Schouler), Marc Jacobs

Menswear Designer of the Year: Michael Bastian, Patrik Ervell, and Simon Spurr

Accessory Designer of the Year: Alexander Wang, Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez (Proenza Schouler), Reed Krakoff

Swarovski Award for Womenswear: Joseph Altuzarra, Ashley Olsen & Mary-Kate Olsen, Prabal Gurung

Swarovski Award for Menswear: Alexander Wang, Phillip Lim, Robert Geller

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design: Alejandro Ingelmo, Eddie Borgo, Jason Wu, and Pamela Love

Marc Jacobs will be presented with The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award

The CFDA Board of Directors chose Arthur Elgort for the Special Tribute

The Fashion Icon Award will go to Lady Gaga

The Media Award will be given to Hilary Alexander of The Telegraph

The Founders Award will go to Hal Rubenstein of In Style

Phoebe Philo for Celine will receive The International Award

The winners will be announced at the annual 2011 CFDA Fashion Awards on June 6th. The anticipation is already killing us!


20 Years of “The Waxman”

The Samuel Waxman Cancer Research Foundation hosts 20th Anniversary Gala in support of cancer research and treatments

On The Avenue

Asher Edelman’s Rose-Colored House-warming

An opening for photographer Rose Hartman marked the return of an Upper East Side power couple

Our Crowd

AVENUE Celebrates Victory on Vestry

Architect Daniel Lobitz of Robert A.M. Stern Architects spoke at a dinner celebrating the new condo, 70 Vestry

by AVENUE insiderPhotographed by Billy Farrall