Shop

Faith Shops The Avenue: Create Your Own Red Carpet Look!

Friday, March 8, 2013
Follow by Email
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

With the Academy Awards now a memory, it’s time for us New Yorkers to focus on our own many formal events—from benefits to galas to opening nights, we certainly have plenty of occasions to dress to the nines, and plenty of new and classic stores to help us look our best!


 


Fabulous Frocks:


Oscar de la Renta F/W 2013

Oscar de la Renta (772 Madison Avenue; www.oscardelarenta.com) doubled the size of his Madison Avenue emporium (taking over what had been an adjacent Paul & Shark) to better showcase his spectacular collections. In fact, the shop really is an  “Oscar” department store, with the space to organize and display his timeless pieces, including an entire area devoted solely to eveningwear, in a logical manner.


Badgley Mischka (www.badgleymischka.com), a favorite of many of our fashionistas, is to open its first freestanding boutique at 24 East 64th Street in April.  They come hot on the high heels of Monique Lhuillier (www.moniquelhuillier.com), long a red carpet and gala mainstay, who opened her first New York shop in October in a lovely townhouse at 19 East 71st Street. Though best known for bridal, Lhuillier is using this shop to showcase all of her lines, from ready-to-wear to tabletop.


Alexander McQueen (www.alexandermcqueen.com) also migrating from Meatpacking to Madison, number 747 set to launch late spring.


For the downtown shopper Versace’s (www.versace.com) latest shop, 160 Mercer Street, offers a still luxurious, but decidedly modern vibe, with ready-to-wear displayed not far from iPhone cases and even board games.


With all of these up-to-the-minute luxury designers taking their own boutiques, can Marchesa, Naeem Kahn, Eli Saab, and Zuhair Murad be far behind? We hope not!


 


For the Boys:


Hugo Boss Atmosphere

Hugo Boss (The Shops at Columbus Circle; www.hugoboss.com) will add another level to its store, creating a flagship that replaces its Fifth Avenue location. It will be the only three-level store at the mall, and a real sign that better shopping is moving west!


 


Michael Kors (www.michaelkors.com) also will be showcasing his menswear line as never before at his massive newest shop, to be located at 520 Broadway. Set to be Kors’ largest store in the world, its concourse level will have the designer’s most extensive presentation of men’s apparel and accessories anywhere.


 


But these will be just the latest in what has been an explosion in haberdashery that has seen luxury men’s apparel designers debut shops around the city. Just opened in October, Lanvin Men’s (807 Madison Avenue; www.lanvin.com/e-lanvin/INT/men.html) has been described by local blogs as a “menswear Mecca,” with an exceptional collection of formalwear, as well as suits and even casual clothing for ultimate style. Dior Homme  (www.dior.com/couture/mode-accessoires/homme) debuted at 17 East 57th Street last year as well, and just recently added bespoke suits to its services.


 


All About Accessories:


10022 Shoe at Saks Fifth Avenue

The last year has seen a number of new shoe salons open around the city – as well as the expansion of the departments at Saks Fifth Avenue, Barneys and Macy’s. This year sees no sign of a slowdown. Charlotte Olympia (www.charlotteolympia.com) at 22 East 65th Street arrived earlier this year. Vince Camuto’s (www.vincecamuto.com) designer line, VC Signature, will take Cole Haan’s former location at 667 Madison Avenue. Kathryn Amberleigh’s (www.kathrynamberleigh.com) second shop in the city, at 13 Gansevoort Street, is a stunning white showcase for an assortment of colorful heels.


 


Quite recently, Brian Atwood (www.brianatwood.com/) debuted a shoe store at 655 Madison Avenue that is both stunning and offers stunning merchandise. Decidedly English in its store design and attitude, Edon Manor (391 Greenwich Street; www.edonmanor.com) combines tradition and whimsy in its presentation of truly luxurious accessories collections. Look for hard-to-find shoes, bags and more from Alaia, Balenciaga, Givenchy, Stella McCartney, Proenza Schouler, Nina Ricci, Giambattista Valli and Alexander Wang, among others. Roger Vivier (750 Madison Avenue; www.rogervivier.com) is traditionally a shoe specialist, though I loved his bags this year, definitely unique-chic.


 


Generous Gems:


Van Cleef & Arpels Boutique

Of course, no gala outfit is complete without gems to match, and we have both traditional and more contemporary designers to provide the perfect diamond, sapphire, what have you. Harry Winston (718 Fifth Avenue; www.harrywinston.com)’s long legacy includes both new and vintage designs from decades gone by. Van Cleef & Arpels (744 Fifth Avenue; www.vancleefarpels.com/us/en/) is another great name with both classic and contemporary pieces.


 


Chopard (709 Madison Avenue; www.chopard.com/en/pages/home.aspx) has some spectacular colored stones and delicate necklaces perfect for a younger consumer. Fred Leighton (773 Madison Avenue; www.fredleighton.com) effortlessly fuses vintage and contemporary style.


Newer designers also have come to be regulars at our galas, though one must make appointments to view their wares. Born in Brooklyn, but Los Angeles-based, Neil Lane (www.neillanejewelry.com) is a jeweler to the stars, producing dramatic signature pieces for couture clients. Also a specialist in drama, Lorraine Schwartz (580 Fifth Avenue; www.facebook.com/lorraineschwartzjewelry) produces pieces with a sense of humor, too.


 


With all of these newcomers, and a few classic merchants too, there’s no excuse not to wear something special to your next black-tie event.


 


Happy Spring & Happy Shopping!


 


MORE FROM SHOP
img

Antique Antics

The Winter Antique Show had its kickoff party

On The Avenue
img

The Fountain of Youth

... and where to find it.

In The Magazine
img
In The Magazine

New York, New Eats

As 2017 draws to a close, it’s open season for restaurants

by Beth LandmanPhotographed by Billy Farrall