Not Allergic to Fun!

by AVENUE insider Photographed by Julie Skarratt Photography
Friday, December 8, 2017
Follow by Email

On Monday, December 4th, over 400 guests gathered at the Pierre to honor and support the Food Allergy Research & Education (FARE). FARE helps support research and care for individuals with food allergies, potentially deadly conditions from which 1 in 15 children nationwide suffer. The hallmark of every year’s drive to fight allergies is the Food Allergy Ball. This year was the gala’s 20th anniversary, and FARE decided to celebrate in style.  The night celebrated “20 for 20,” some of the most important figures in the food allergy community over the past two decades. Some of them included Gwen Smith and Peter Wilmshurst, the editors of Allergy Living Magazine; The Jaffe Family, who c0-founded the Food Allergy Initiative; and Drew Nieporent of the Myriad Food Group. Together, all of them made a difference in the fight against food allergies. In addition, Sharyn T. Mann was given the organization’s Founder’s Award, Charles Masson of Majorelle was given the lifetime achievement award and Walt Disney Parks and Resorts was the corporate dinner honoree.

Gala Dinner Chairs for the evening were Karen and Lianne Mandelbaum,  Joseph Ianniello was the Corporate Dinner Chair and Liana Silverstein Backal and Arthur Backal, Nina Rennert Davidson and Mitchell Davidson, Kathy Franklin, Abby and Robert Goldstein, Helen and David Jaffe, Nicole and Marc Lenner, Roxanne and Dean Palin, Joelle and Jonathan Resnick, Diana and Ira Riklis, and Stacey and Marc Saiontz were Anniversary Dinner Chairs. Thanks to all their efforts, the evening helped raise more than $1.9 million to help FARE fight against food allergies.


Mishaan celebrates 25 years out of fashion

Design mavens and media toast Richard Mishaan's quarter century in interior design

At Home

From the Archives: Ralph Lauren

A vintage profile of an up-and-coming designer


Legends in Timelessness at 92Y Jewelry Center Benefit

A toast to Robert Lee Morris and Klaus Bürgel

by Wendy SyPhotographed by Billy Farrall