Orthopod Friends and Family Frolic with Dinosaurs

by Bryan Gallion Photographed by Don Pollard
Thursday, June 8, 2017

Hospital for Special Surgery raised $3.6 million for education, research and patient care Monday night at its 34th Annual Tribute Dinner, held at the American Museum of Natural History.

The gala honored Dr. Thomas P. Sculco, surgeon-in-chief emeritus at Hospital for Special Surgery, with the Lifetime Achievement Award. The event was hosted by Maria Bartiromo, anchor and global markets editor for Fox Business News. Mario J. Gabelli, chief investment officer of Gabelli Funds, served as the event’s underwriter.

Guests were attracted from all sectors, including Arthur Levitt, former SEC chairman; The Honorable Joyce Sparrow; Kenneth Handal, former assistant U.S. attorney for New York; Joe Wright, former U.S. Office of Management and Budget director; Craig Ivey, president of ConEd; Jonathan Sobel, Foursquare Capital’s chief executive officer; Kendrick R. Wilson III, BlackRock vice chairman; Bill Cowher, a former NFL coach; New York Red Bulls players Felipe and Connor Lade, actresses Stephanie March and Chita Rivera, former television journalist Pia Lindström and former principal dancer Elizabeth Roxas.

Kathy Leventhal and Ellen Wright co-chaired the dinner with the honorary co-chair Patricia G. Warner. The gala’s vice chairs were Kathryn C. Chenault and Alan S. MacDonald, Citibank’s chief client officer.

Founded in 1863, Hospital for Special Surgery is the nation’s oldest orthopedic hospital and conducts over 29,000 procedures annually. The hospital was ranked No. 1 in orthopedics and No. 2 in rheumatology in U.S. News & World Report’s “Best Hospitals 2016-2017” survey.


R.I.P. Mario Buatta, 1935-2018

The Prince of Chintz has died after a life of loveliness and laughter.

Art & Design

The Week Ahead: October 15-19 on the AVENUE

Here's what's going on this week in New York

In The Magazine

The Power Elite, 2018

Our guide to who matters most in New York City