Power Women Lunch and March for Peace at the UN

Wednesday, March 12, 2014
Follow by Email
This past Friday, UN Women For Peace hosted its annual March in March awards luncheon-and-march. The awards luncheon was held in celebration of International Women’s Day in the Delegates Dining Room at the UN, with Uma Pemmaraju as master of ceremonies. UN Women for Peace honored Trudie Styler with the organization’s 2014 Humanitarian Award and Dina Habib Powell, president of the Goldman Sachs Foundation, accepted the 2014 Achievement Award on behalf of Goldman Sachs 10,000 Women

The co-chairs were Muna Rihani Al- Nasser, Deidre Imus and Sheikha Paula Al Sabah, and Cindy McCain

The program commenced with opening remarks from UN Women For Peace’s chair, Muna Rihani Al-NasserAldihna Sisic, chief of the UN Trust Fund to End Violence Against Women, next spoke to luncheon guests about the importance of trust. Cindy McCain, after congratulating the honorees, spoke of her eye-opening trip to Calcutta and the urgency of ending violence against women. Ms. McCain serves as the co-chair of the Arizona governor’s task force on human trafficking and is committed to ending the dehumanizing practice not only in Arizona, but around the world. The luncheon’s closing remarks were given by Naomi Campbell, who urged luncheon guests to march with her and the rest of Committee of Honor to bring awareness to End Violence Against Women.

The Committee of Honor attendees included: Kim Cattrall, Naomi Campbell, Monique Coleman, Rosemary DiCarlo, Rula Jebreal, Lakskmi Puri, Kelly Rutherford, and Aldijana Sisic.

The over 500 supporters took advantage of Friday’s relatively mild weather and marched with luncheon guests from UN Headquarters to Dag Hammarskjold Plaza  at 47th Street and First Avenue. The march was led by Muna Rihani Al Nasser, Mrs. Ban Soon-taekThe Face’s Afiya Bennett, Kim Cattrall, Naomi Campbell, Monique Coleman, Rosemary DiCarlo, Rula Jebreal, Cindy McCain, Lakskmi Puri, Kelly Rutherford, Trudie Styler, and Aldijana Sisic. The speakers at the rally included: Muna Rihani Al-Nasser, Mrs. Ban Soon-taek, HR Nassir Al-Nasser, Lakshmi Puri, Rosemary DiCarlo, Mrs. McCain, Naomi Campbell, Kelly Rutherford, Trudie Styler, Rula Jebreal, Dr. Allan E. Goodman, and Midori Miyazki.


Making Herstory at the Brooklyn Museum

A celebration for the museum's feminist art center.

On The Avenue

A Sweet Sixteen for Daniel Boulud

Happy Birthday, DB Bistro!


Pop! Goes the Restaurant Scene

Heading to the Hamptons this weekend? Here's where to dine.

by Beth LandmanPhotographed by Billy Farrall